Thoughts on crops for profit

Help Support CattleToday:

ClinchValley

Reaction score
Obviously, I am new to all this. Grew up on the farm, moved away for over a decade. Have retained a lot of the growing know-how. Have had a small garden most of my life. Now it is mine and I have jumped in, head first. Looking to the short-term, I need to make some extra money. I am wanting to grow some food to sell. We have a 13 acre field fenced off from the Tobacco days. Hasn't been plowed in God knows how long. Not really wanting to grow 13 acres, :), thinking more like an acre or three.

My grandfather used to do very well with watermelons/mushmelon on this ground. As well as green beans.

Thinking for profit here. I am here Solo. Have a neighbor or two that would probably help out. As well as a few family members I could persuade in helping. But mainly would be by myself.

I am thinking Beans, Tomatoes, Melons, Possibly corn. What else would be doable by myself? I have thousands of tobacco sticks for support.

I have a 80 hp 4x4 tractor, plows, discs, a 7ft tiller as well as a walk behind tiller, sprayer…etc. Just a fyi...

What do you all grow to sell? As it is time to get started, giving temps in the 70's this coming week. Has given me the fever.

Yay! May 2016 be a great year for us all!

On a small scale like you are interested in I would recommend produce. Tomatoes, okra, sweet corn, peepers, squash, etc. locally grown produce sells well here but I wouldn't expect to make enough money to even mention with only 3-4 acres. Do it because you enjoy it. Otherwise you are only creating yourself a job. Good luck to you either way.

It is something I thoroughly enjoy. Plan to have a garden for the family. Figured might grow some extra and see if I can sell it. Was just curious what would be considered worth the time.