Tetnus/Grass Tetany

Help Support CattleToday:

Stepper

Reaction score
What is Tetnus ? And is it different from grass tetany ? And is it to soon to start putting out a high mag mineral even though we are a couple of months away before the grass starts growing ? And is there a risk of causing tetnus from banding new born bull calfs ?

Stepper, Tetanus is different than grass tetany. I am not an expert on tetanus but I believe it enters through an open wound. I know when a calf is banded, if you dont give it a tetanus shot, it can get tetanus. Some areas have to give a booster shot, also. I dont know what area you are in, but in sw Missouri, I start putting the magnesium oxide out around Jan. 15 in order to have some built up in the system of the cows. We are supposed to have 55-60 degree weather next week and the grass will green up in a hurry and cows will eat less hay and there is risk of grass tetany. If you wait until you have tetany problems, it is difficult to get the mag in the system quickly, because they do not like the taste of it.

Stepper":1brrgzi6 said:
What is Tetnus ? And is it different from grass tetany ? And is it to soon to start putting out a high mag mineral even though we are a couple of months away before the grass starts growing ? And is there a risk of causing tetnus from banding new born bull calfs ?