TAIL BLEEDING

Help Support CattleToday:

HomePlaceAngus

Reaction score
I have always papulated for pregnancy check, but have trouble telling early sometimes. I am now trying the blood test method and if I can get it to work, I think the early results will be helpful. My question is about tail bleeding. I would say that on 10 head I had trouble getting blood out of 8 of them. I have read and re-read the instructions. Any idea what I might be doing wrong? any advise will be appreciated. Thanks :bang:

I'm not an expert but I was getting pretty good at it until I got a new batch of vacutainer tubes and everything went to he!!. The new tubes were almost half the size of the first ones I had and they just didn't have the suction. I would get a good stick and lose the flow when I pushed the tube on the needle. Once you lose the suction you can't get it back. Anyway, I recommend 7 ml tubes and watching the video on the Biotracking website.

I use a 18x1 needle and 3cc syringe on each animal.I hold the tail as straight up as i can. At the base of the tail i i run my finger up theres like a V there, right at the top of the V i insert the needle going up at an angle to hit the middle of the tail when i see the blood flash at the needle i pull back on the syringe works most of the time. If the blood doesnt flash in the neddle i just pull it out and start over.

From the top of the v caused by the ligaments i go 3 fingers up. Right in the middle of the tail bone and middle left to right. Tail straight up. Stick the needle to the bone and pull back about 1/4 inch. Pull sample.

tail straight up like said before 3 cc syringe, center of caudual fold, center V go between 2 vertabra
you can feel the valley with your finger, stick strait in and let go it will stay, pull back on plunger should get blood easy,then put in vacutainer , wish I had spell check on this computer
or you could do it this way video of jugular blood draw ,I have not tried that one yet