suggestions for summer annual

Help Support CattleToday:

Texas Gal

Reaction score
we're in the process of clearing 35+/- acres since early spring. the rain has really slowed down progress on this project. i'm leaning towards a warm season annual this year for erosion control and some grazing. any suggestions regarding what to plant here in North Central Texas? i have zero experience with warm season annuals.

Its getting late in the year for summer annuals but I guess you could do some hay grazer. If you are not afraid to manage it, Johnson grass or sorghum almum would be my choice. Seed is cheap.

Call the folks over at Turner seed in Breckenridge. They will help you out.

I'm a long ways away, hot dry climate here.. I used annual ryegrass with some crimson clover and just a little barley, all broadcast seeded,.. Sowed it in late July and it made for wonderful, nutritious fall grazing

First frost before putting the cows in

Texas Gal said:
we're in the process of clearing 35+/- acres since early spring. the rain has really slowed down progress on this project. i'm leaning towards a warm season annual this year for erosion control and some grazing. any suggestions regarding what to plant here in North Central Texas? i have zero experience with warm season annuals.

Warm season annual sounds like sorghum-sudan, haygrazer, popular, available at most feed stores, priced at about $25/50# bag, bag per acre for a good stand, makes great stands for grazing and baling...good volume, couple of problems to watch out for but handleable. "Gotcha Plus" out of Denton feed mills is a super product....my bulk fertilizer dealer in Whiteright sells it as a sideline along with his fertilizer main business. Really late in the season now to plant any summer crop.....Haygrazer should have been in by mid April but the weather forecasters have predicted a wet summer so you still have a chance to make something.

bird dog said: