stunted calves

Help Support CattleToday:

farmguy

Reaction score
I have an embarrassing problem and need advise. I had a couple cows that had twins and would not accept the first calf born, only he second. Being my wife and I were going to be busy I paid a grandson to keep the calves until they were off milk replacer and I had a place to put them. I would pay also for calf starter. I never checked on the calves. Once they were off the milk replacer he put them in with a bunch of sheep and all starter and grain went to the sheep, calves were not agressive enough to get any grain so they basically lived on grass. I got them home now and they are eating grain. Any advise on how to get them going? I know I should have checked. thanks farmguy

Never seen bottle calf grow off well.
I have found it cheaper to park a 22 bullet between their eyes versus the cost of " growing " them out.
I am losing money both ways just less if taken care of right off.

Before I would put a 22 bullet between their eyes I would haul them to the sale. Especially a sale on the weekend. It always amazes me what some people will pay for a little stunted calf.

Caustic Burno said:
I have found it cheaper to park a 22 bullet between their eyes versus the cost of " growing " them out.

Stop it. I have 3 that I kept as replacements and you'd never know. Actually, 2 of them are currently raising heifers that are bigger than most of the steers - and I'm absolutely keeping them as replacements.

The money? Yeah, I spent a fortune on milk replacer but I'm pretty sure what I've made on their calves more than made up for it.