Stockman Grass Farmer paper

Help Support CattleToday:

Andrew

Reaction score
Does anyone have an opinion on the Stockman Grass Farmer? I been a subscriber for about 7 months and like the reading but some of it seems a bit hard to believe. They place a huge emphasis on grass fed cattle and how to get away from grain, bailing hay and so forth. They make everything seem quite simplistic (or so it seems) and when I've tried some of the advise such as leaving standing hay, it hasn't worked very well.
I like the publication as such but since I'm relatively new to cattle I would like to hear from more experienced cattle people.
I especially thought a recent article about range pigs living on cow manure was way too weird.

Anyway, I would appreciate any comments...

Thanks,
Andrew

Andrew I have taken the paper for at least 10 years. Having said that I dont know if I will renew next year. For the last 2 or 3 years we have nothing but articles about grass fed beef. Previous to that is was very well rounded, with articles on a lot of subjects. Back then it was help on growing a forage the the cheapest way possible. Then you put the type of animal on there that was going to give you the most return. I must say that I miss the cutting edge information that you used to gleen from the paper. Now its turned into a mouthpiece for linebred beef, all so you can get a animal that can finish on grass and be tender... Thats great if you have that type of niche market to sell to. Of course if you sell in the real world the packers likes long bodied big butted animals, thats something you wont find in the pure grassfed genitics ;-)

A couple of years ago I got a free introductory copy.
They had an article by a guy that claimed his Herefords were so prepotent that his bulls would put orns on calves out of Angus cows. Another article about the Buelingo breed by a guy that didn't even have the genetic makeup of the breed correct.