Starting fresh and needing advise

Help Support CattleToday:

casey k

Reaction score
ok, so we just had to sell most of my cows cause of the drought here in missouri, but in many ways this was a good decision. but next year i will start to rebuild my stock. so im needing some advise on some things cause im kinda new at all this. which breed of cattle is best to raise in Missouri? we used to have Brahman and there wasn't really a demand for them here. which is the best hay to feed cattle? which is best to feed as a supplement and why? should range meal be fed in the summer or winter or both? i have seen farmers fed all different kinds of feed, just needing to get a better idea of what to use. like range meal, how often do u feed it? is protein tubs better than salt mix? i was told to wean calves when 7 months old? what kinda vaccinations should i give them and how often? how often should they be wormed? which is the best way to keep flies off cattle? if i use protein tubs should i put something else out for them? we used to put out summer salt mix for pink eye, is there something better out there that i can use thats cost less? what time of year is best for calving? should i do control breeding or just leave the bulls in there with them? what is the ratio for total of bulls for cows for breeding? so any advise you can give me would be greatly appreciated.