Spreading Manure on Hayfield

Help Support CattleToday:

BigBear56

Reaction score
I did a soil test on rented hay ground this past winter and the results were underwhelming. Very low on potash and low on phosphorus. I've consulted with my county extension office and applied fertilizer per their recommendations. $$$$$

I'm wanting to start spreading my manure on this hayfield. I realize the manure may not give me all the N, P, and K I need but it certainly would help.

I have no experience with this. We always spread in corn and bean fields when I was younger. My concern is big globs of manure choking out the grass and being left in large clumps. I have my eye on a John Deere Model R spreader which, from YouTube videos, looks like it can chop it up pretty good.

I plan to clean out stalls in the spring and compost the manure (flip it a couple times) during the summer and spread right after our last cutting. Possibly tarp it a couple months before spreading to help it dry out and lessen the possibility of clumping.

I currently have about 40 cubic yards of manure piled and most of it is a year or 2 old.

Am I on the right path?

Yes. Leave it in pile over the summer and spread in fall. It will break apart very well. Spread at high speed apron speed and low ground speed. It will completely change that field in terms of production.

Aaron said:
Yes. Leave it in pile over the summer and spread in fall. It will break apart very well. Spread at high speed apron speed and low ground speed. It will completely change that field in terms of production.

Thanks Aaron! I was thinking the same thing in regards to ground speed and beater speed.

I have a JD Model N. Have slung all sorts of things. It does a good job of pulverizing wet or dry, full of hay stems or sloppy with too much moisture from stall cleanings. Great for cleaning up areas where you fed round bales. I use mine more for organic matter incorporation as NPK do suck. Cows are stingy.... they keep it inside. :D