Signs of Calving

Help Support CattleToday:

ATovet35

Reaction score
I am new to the cattle industry. I had a cow calve last month and I never new that she was due. I have 3 cows due now actually 2 of which is over due. One of them was raped ( as the vet called it) 2 weeks ago and had to have shots in her tale to stop her from straining. I have the three is a small pasture. I have looked at every website there is and they all say the same thing. One of the cows udders look like they are going to burst and she is springing but she will start showing signs then a couple hours will stop. I was told to keep a close eye on here due to the incident. Im not sure what to look for. She has also had 4 days of mucus. The other cow is starting to show signs of early labor (getting up and Down) and mucous but the udders are not as swollen as the other one. When should I call the vet or should I just sit back and wait. I am so afraid to loose one we are really close to the cattle

Im no expert or anything, but from what I have learned from this site is that it seems to vary from cow to cow. Sometimes they will bag up long before calving, and sometimes they will after. If she is "about to burst", keep an eye on her for mastitis. One of ours a little over a mont ago had her calf, and her udder seemed barely filled, and there was no mucus. The only thing we noticed is that she was sinking in a lot. Then the next morning we woke up and a calf was following her around.

Are they all cows or are any of them heifers? From what Ive read heifers seem to be different from cows.

Im sure some of the people with more experience can give more information.