Self Destructing Cow

Help Support CattleToday:

Jaymar503

Reaction score
Hi I am very new to this sort of thing (the forum) ... I have a first calf heifer, she is not quite 3 yet calved in December. We raise our heifers in a bedded pack barn and they are out on pasture in the summer, when they are close to calving they go to a tie stall barn. This heifer never stood in a tie stall barn and she is completely wrecking herself. She is now back at home on the bedded pack, but she has damaged herself to the point I am not sure what else I can do to help her. She has a very swollen hind leg, she is on antibiotics, she calved in with mastitis in 3 quarters and all but one we have cleared up so we are treating that. My question is has anyone had animals that have not been able to make it in a tie stall? and what can I do to help her? should I wrap the leg or let it drain? she has an awefully big open wound right on her hock, I have been putting peroxide on it keep it clean, but not sure this is working, since I can't poor it on her every second of the day. Please help.. thanks

Jaymar503":32nwyvih said: