Salebarn bottle calves

Help Support CattleToday:

Hereford2

Reaction score
:help: Hi, I have the opportunity to buy 2 Beef calves for $50. The only catch is they were bought from a Sale barn today,. Any Advice?
Meds ect? They had a Antibiotic shot and a Multimin 90 shot.

If you don't have a lot of experience with raising bottle calves, I'd say keep your $50. If you do have a lot of experience raising bottle calves, you don't need me to tell you that. :)

I have a lot of experience with bottle calves, but I've only had 4 from the sale barn. They did fine for me. I had to deal with some bad scours. I haven't seen the calves yet, I'm supposed to look at them this afternoon, I'm just kinda Leary, because they only cost $50 for both of them and I'm used to paying $150 for a beef calf off of the farm. But I also don't know what beef calves are bringing at the sale barn these days.

The best medicine for a salebarn bottle calf if to work calmly with them, get them in a stress free warm environment, don't give them milk immediately but ELECTROLYTES at intervals for a 6hr period. After that you may start giving them milk.

Around here heifer calves or bull calves under 75 lbs are being given away. Most of the "beef" calves at our local sale barn are actually beef x dairy crosses. Look for signs of dairy influence and adjust your price/expectations accordingly.

I clean mine up with iodine. Basically bath them in it. Then I give a nasal pneumonia vaccine and just see how they do! I only treat them when they need treating.

I give an 8 way at 8 weeks.

It's normal for my bottle babies to come with the runs. Once I give them milk replacer it usually gets worse for 3 days. To combat I give morning milk, afternoon electrolytes and evening milk.

If I was near you and you passed those calves up I'd be running there to grab them. $50 for a beef bottle calf is a good find. I'd be thrilled to take them.

Hereford2 said: