rotational grazing

Help Support CattleToday:

circlew

Reaction score
I've broke my place up into three pastures. Two 15 acre pens and 1 that is 12 acres. Right now I've got 40 brood cows and hopefully will have 40 calves to go along with them. The two 15 acre pens have probably around 20 acres in them the other being woods. I'm hoping that I can get 5 to 7 days on each pen. This is my first attempt at rotational grazing. Any advice would be appreciated! :)

circlew":24e3s3qg said:
I've broke my place up into three pastures. Two 15 acre pens and 1 that is 12 acres. Right now I've got 40 brood cows and hopefully will have 40 calves to go along with them. The two 15 acre pens have probably around 20 acres in them the other being woods. I'm hoping that I can get 5 to 7 days on each pen. This is my first attempt at rotational grazing. Any advice would be appreciated! :)

You have 40 brood cows on 42 acres? :shock:

Rotating is good.
A 'long" rest is better.
You will want to buy a roll of polywire and try crossing fencing your 3 paddocks it increase the rest period.

Cross fencing the other pens will be a problem now, because of water. Once I get the hang of things and get everything situated. I'm gonna have a well put in in the most logical place and try to break the other pens up.

circlew":e7s9hp3p said:
Cross fencing the other pens will be a problem now, because of water. Once I get the hang of things and get everything situated. I'm gonna have a well put in in the most logical place and try to break the other pens up.
Find and attend a grazing school near you. Even if it isn;t real near you. It's amazing how differtnly I looked at my pastures and the water situations before and after I attended one, 12 years ago.

NRCS does most of the grazing schools around here, but sometimes the state cattlemans association does one and occasioanly the unversity.
Check with NRCS and your extension service. If there is going to be one they shuld have some knowledge of it.