Replacing valve cover gasket tips

Help Support CattleToday:

pricefarm

Reaction score
Been working on my 6610 ford and figured while I had the front end apart and the good it would be a good time to replace the valve cover gasket. It leaks some oil not a lot just enough to make it look bad. Any tips on installing a new one I have never done it before. Is it better to use that blue silicone gasket glue or just use the gasket itself?

I use goop of some sort on all gaskets. Got some old Permatex brown stuff in can, apply it with a brush. I've had that same little can for 40 plus years, stuff still works good. Others I use spray Permatex high temp copper stuff.

I'd glue the gasket to the valve cover with some 3M weather strip adhesive first. Then put a very light coat of silicone on the gasket and install.

Tom has a good point.. adjust the valves while you're in there... if the front main seal is accessible, I'd do that one now as well.

For gaskets, I like to put copper never-seize on one side (block side, cork gaskets only) and a THIN smear of Permatex Ultra Gray on the valve cover side ... I find blue silicone worthless.
The never seize on the block side helps it come off in one piece should you ever need to take it off.

I don't know the exact design, but PAY ATTENTION to the torque specs!!.. Most cork gaskets are just snugged, while the formed rubber ones that fit in a groove will be torqued more (the gasket doesn't hold the valve cover, the valve cover sits directly on the head).