Pre-conditioning/Backgrounding Hi Risk Calves - Health?

Help Support CattleToday:

bverellen

Reaction score
I have some questions for the Backgrounders in this group.and any other work that needs to be done.

Let me start by saying that my experience is limited to stockers and all natural cow/calf.

I'm just about to pull the trigger on some calves for pre-conditioning and backgrounding.

I'm planning on buying lightweight sale barn calves, 300-400 lbs. from local southern Iowa sale barns. Ideally if I purchase them in the latter half of the sale they will not have been over nighted, and likewise will have endured only a short trip from the farm to the barn.

My plan is to take them to approximately 500# and then sell them back as pre-conditioned, bunk and water broke with an Iowa Gold Tag and weaning certificate.

I've got a pretty rigorous health plan worked out with the local vet. Upon arrival they will all get an Enforce 3 intranasal vaccine for IBR, PI3 and BRSV, a dose of Draxxin and I.D. tagged. 14 days later they will get their first round of vaccinations per the Iowa Green Tag program, Dewormed and any other work that needs to be done. Two weeks after that they receive their second round of shots and their Iowa Gold Tag. In addition I will be treating their water with Corid for Coccidiosis prevention.

A critique of this protocol would be appreciated.

I have some further questions but will post them as a separate thread to keep the mud as clear as possible ;)

I use enforce in place of a five way for the first round then booster a few weeks later with 5way coming in right away. Unless you think it will take 2 weeks to piece a group together before vaccinating the extra round of enforce might not be needed.

Safeguard is a wormer we mix in with their ration a few days after receiving. Also you could get rumensinn or decox in their feed or supplement to prevent coccid. Instead of having to add it to the water.