Pond areation

Help Support CattleToday:

I have no experience, but I saw a guy on TV that tried a couple different pumps that didn't perform well and he installed one of the windmills and it worked really well.

Fenceman, I don't have any experience with the windmill, but depending on the size of the pond a 2" pipe about two foot above the surface running water from a well or a centrifugal pump (using water from the pond) into the pond will replenish the oxygen. (If this is an option)

JMJ Farms":cx1532q3 said:
Fenceman, I don't have any experience with the windmill, but depending on the size of the pond a 2" pipe about two foot above the surface running water from a well or a centrifugal pump (using water from the pond) into the pond will replenish the oxygen. (If this is an option)

Jmj that is an option. The tank is about 1.5 acres when full. There's already a pump in place that pumps water to concrete stock tanks.
Weighing the option of the increase in electric use versus wind.
One negative to the wind is it often dosent blow a whole lot in the summer when areation is needed. Says it will work at 3 to 5 mph wind. That would probably be ok. Also the pump I have in place would not be adequate. It often trips the thermal switch when watering the garden.
Solar= 7000.00 ......nope.
Wife likes the idea of windmill. :cboy:

http://www.tractorsupply.com/tsc/produc ... ump-1-2-hp
This is very simaliar to the pump I have but mine is 1 hp.
It pumps about 1/2 mile to the furthest waterer and does fine. But in hot weather running continuous it will throw the thermal switch. Its in a small a frame pumphouse on the tank dam. I want to be able to areate in the hottest part of summer to increase the amount I can feed my fish.
Open to all.