Phenotype Evaluation please!

Help Support CattleToday:

Rookie Rancher

Reaction score
I'm picking my first bull and I'd love some opinions on this bull's phenotype.
Bull_pic1.jpg

Thanks for your help! :tiphat:

What are you wanting to use him for? What is his name or reg #. I personally do not like him. I like more balance and a bit more butt. If I were a bettin man I'd say he mainly a carcass bull. Are you wanting to raise cattle to sell on the grid?

He's Gelbvieh, Carolina Fortune, reg # 687061 . I'd be mating him to purebred angus heifers out of Gridmaker and Plowman. I plan on keeping all heifers and finishing all steers to sell direct to local health nuts by the quarter or half. Once the heifers are old enough to breed, I'd like to use a third breed as terminal sire on them. I havn't decided which terminal breed yet. I've got lots of time.

Here's a link to his EPDs. I like the numbers, but admitedly I'm a rookie at evaluating phenotype. Keep the opinions coming. :D

http://abs-bs.absglobal.com/beef/gelbvieh.asp?CodTouro=137GV2930

I've thought of using him, but I would use him as a terminal bull. The WW and YW weights would make his daughters pretty darn big as mature cows. Generally our F1s turn out larger then either of the parents.

Not trying to be an a-hole or anything, but in my opinion that bull looks terrible. I have far better looking bulls in my bull pasture and I'm only a commercial man. Maybe it's a bad picture but I'd probably say this bull made the lineup on numbers and numbers only. Phenotypically this bull has very little to add to the beef industry. Just my 2 cents.