Ongoing calving problems

Help Support CattleToday:

blacksnake

Reaction score
I have a small herd of apporx. 18-20 cows. I have been breeding the heifers and either keeping or selling the better ones. Most of the bulls become steers and are used for freezer beef. I have been doing this for about 9 years. In this time I have had one calf that I lost at calving. My problem is I don't know how to handle one customer who has purchased from me multiple times. All of the heifers that I have sold him have had pelvic measurements and scored good. He seems to have a lot of calving problems. He normally runs between 10-15 mother cows and it seems he averages about 2 calves lost per year. In the past year he has also lost a couple of cows during calving. I like to have happy customers so I have been guaranteeing a live calf. I have refunded some of the purchase price or have paid the vet bill when he had to have one pulled. He recently lost a calf to a cow that I had sold him a couple of years ago. It was the third calf for this cow, the first two calved ok. The customer is also a friend that I buy hay from so that complicates matters on how to handle the situation. I think he must be doing something wrong, just not sure how to approach him about it. My guess is lack of minerals. I think hiss loss of calves, especially on heifers, can hurt my reputation since I sell to several others in the area. No one else has had any calving problems. Should I just refuse to sell to this person?
Thanks for any advice

blacksnake":2ft0qc8f said: