Newbie with a plan needs input...

Help Support CattleToday:

cmjust0

Reaction score
Hey everybody.. Semi-longtime lurker, first time poster.. :D

I bought a fallow central Kentucky farm of about 25 acres almost a year ago, and I've spent that time getting equipment together, cleaning up, and trying to figure the best way for me to run cattle...

The farm is basically basically divided up between good fescue pasture and open woods. There's not enough room to cut hay, so if decided to overwinter animals, I'd have to buy it. I'm trying to avoid that -- at least in my first attempt with cattle..

I'll have to put up fences around two sides of the property, and I've pretty much decided to install Hi-Tensile myself. I have some fencing experience, decent tools/equipment, and some knowledge of Hi-T, so I should be OK there.. Going to go w/ a 6 strand set up, with three close to the ground in case I ever want to add goats to my lineup.. 4 hots, 2 earth gounds is the plan.

I have two barns, one for tobacco and one that was a stock/general purpose barn.. The latter has what I guess was used as a crowding pen and a working chute in one corner, minus the headgate.. It also has a crowding pen and a loading chute in the other corner... Both are very angular and small - they wouldn't flow well.. Each one affords cattle the opportunity to force you into a tedious game of whack-a-mole, which isn't good.. I could use either in a pinch, but I'd sooner tear all that out and start again with a good plan in mind to make better (safer) use of the space.. Since I won't raise any tobacco, the big tobacco barn will make one hell of an equipment shed and the stock/general purpose barn can become a DEDICATED stock barn. Maybe even with concrete floors someday.. :D