Low Price Question from Cattle Auction

Help Support CattleToday:

bret314

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I have been reading this board for a while and really enjoying it, and learning a lot, and I have a question maybe some of you all can help me out with.

I am attempting to run a very small feeder calf operation, (90 acres), and I am in my second year. I just took my first bunch of calves to auction, and ended up getting surprisingly low prices for them. Basically I am wondering what the contributing factors were, and what (if anything) I might be able to do to have the next batch go through for better prices.

The steers were about 18 month old Jersey/Angus crosses, ( black hides with a small white spot or two.)

I had three sell together, average weight 862 lbs, Price $83.00.
I one slightly smaller, 705 lbs , Price $74.00.

The market report from the auction lists feeder steers 700-800 lbs at $130.00-$145.00

So am wondering what was wrong with my animals to come in so much lower.

The animals were dairy crosses, so definitely not as heavy framed as a pure beef breed, so I expected that to work against me a little.

They were also coming off straight pasture for the last year. Plenty of grass, but nothing but grass. (and mineral supplement). So they were healthy with good coats, but were definitely not fat. About body condition 4, maybe on the low side of 4.

The only other thing I can think of that might have worked against me was that they did have horns. I expected that to be a small minus, but not a big deal.

What do you guys think? Did I shoot myself in the foot by not trying to fatten them up more? Were the horns a bigger deal than I expected?

I knew they wouldnt bring top dollar, but I was pretty surprised to not even break $100.00.

Let me know if any of you have any thoughts or insight on what I might have done wrong and what I could do better in the future!

Thanks!