Lost a healthy 2 month old calf.

Help Support CattleToday:

Texan":vm7bq6zz said:
My guess would be blackleg. That should always be a serious consideration when you find one of your best calves dead for no apparent reason. I lost a five week old calf about a month ago. The youngest and the earliest I can ever remember losing one to blackleg.

This one was obviously blackleg before I ever got up very close to her. She almost looked double-muscled in the hip that was facing up.

Ok, I don't understand something - assuming it was blackleg - why would one lose only ONE calf? I have no personal experience with blackleg, but my understanding of the disease that it's highly communicable - is this not true? Or is it more a matter of the vaccination not taking or possibly the calf became infected prior to being vaccinated? :help: :help:

over the years we've lost several calves to blackleg and its always right before we are planning to vaccinate them for it. we have never (knock on wood) lost more than one within a year. it is supposed to be highly communicable though.

i need to clarify b/c communicable was a very poor maybe ambiguous choice of wording. a lot of times with blackleg there will be an outbreak so it is highly communicable in teh sense of a lot of them getting it at one time but the cattle dont get it directly from each other. they ingest it. having said that ive never seen multiple animals infected. just wanted to clarify that communicable did not mean contagious. but you probably know that.

Beefy":3q7tcf27 said:
i need to clarify b/c communicable was a very poor maybe ambiguous choice of wording. a lot of times with blackleg there will be an outbreak so it is highly communicable in teh sense of a lot of them getting it at one time but the cattle dont get it directly from each other. they ingest it. having said that ive never seen multiple animals infected. just wanted to clarify that communicable did not mean contagious. but you probably know that.