kids today

Help Support CattleToday:

iowahawkeyes

Reaction score
I'm 37 years old. I graduated college in 91 with a degree in History Education. I married a farmer so I worked as a substitute teacher for 5 years, sold cars and had kids for 6.5, and am back subbing again. As a sub, I get to see the worst in kids it seems, but I like the flexiblity it provides. I have a theory as to why some kids are the way they are, I don't know if you will agree. I believe the parents of these kids were raised in the late 70's and early 80's, a time of rebellion with drugs, alcohol, and sex by the vast majority of teens. I know that happens in all eras, but it seems like it was worse then (as witnessed through our older siblings). I think their parents tried to control them too much and they decided when they had kids to try and be their friend instead of a parent.

One the other hand, I have meet some kids that are just the greatest. They are the reason I keep doing what I'm doing.

Have a great Sunday.

As a kid, I knew Dad would never catch me doing something wrong cause I knew more than him. So the fear of getting a barber's strop across my tail-side didn't stop me from doing some dumb things. What helped me the most, what scared me the most was I knew Dad believed in WEANING. At graduation, the teat came out of your mouth and I'd better make something of myself or get used to living in a cardboard box. I assure you the night of my graduation wasn't a night of celebration but one of soul searching cause I had two weeks and the clock was ticking! :shock:

I put the same rules on my children. No 1 is currently at the USAF Academy. No 2 is currently being courted by a couple of colleges even though he is only in the 10th. No 3 is straight A's and will probably become a Vet and carry on with the cows.

Alot of it has to do with the fast paced life of the city (I think).