Jobs

Help Support CattleToday:

mossy_oak23

Reaction score
If you have gone to college and studied Livestock Production are there many job openings available? Is it even worth it to go study this in college?

I guess it depends where you live, if you plan on living somewhere else, etc. Different parts of the country have different opportunities. Also depends which school you are going to, if they have a good program; and what you want to do. If you just want to do "something" livestock related I'm sure you could find a job. But if you want to do something in particular, that might not be the case, or you might want to add a minor to your studies like business or whatever depending on what you want to do. In my opinion, the best thing you can do is talk to someone in the industry in your area. Best of luck to you.

I am in Canada and wouldn't mind moving anywhere within Canada. The school itself is across the country for me.

I have an associate degree
At that level I might have done as well just getting on the job experience. Although there are lots of things I learned that opened my mind to the bigger picture-
A higher degree is useful in getting management type jobs at bigger operations.

Schooling never hurts even if it doesn't end up being directly useful in what you end up doing.
The associate degree does qualify me better for jobs other than working directly with cattle.

Well, I wonder if something a bit broader might serve you better. I'd think most livestock-related jobs would be willing to look at a guy with, for example, an animal science degree, which might make you more marketable to a broader field of employers.

I have always felt that you should choose your career and life's work by what you enjoy doing and are good at, not according to some published report of where jobs will be.

If you enjoy what you are doing you will be good at it. If you are good at what you do and willing to work harder than most you will find a job.