Ist pulled calf

Help Support CattleToday:

crewboss

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to this cattle biz, Had to pull a calf for the first time
sunday afternoon, my question is do they do things slower,
like steady walk, and getting up the first time? I suppose he could be sore eh? We bottle fed fairly quickly with collostrium, but find yeasterday a 103.4 temp. He gets up to feed ok but doesnt walk around all that much?

Thanks

holly heifer

Reaction score
:( Is this calf a bottle baby? Did you put iodine on the navel?
It might have joint ill-- they will run a temp, stiffness in the joints, but will take a bottle ok. I have 2 bottle calves with
joint ill, it is very hard to eradicate. Most antibiotics will not
get the bacteria, the ones that will are not approved for cattle use. :roll:

dun

Reaction score
Yes he could be sore and also some calves, particularly after being pulled tend to aly around and sleep a lot the first week to 10 days. 103 is not a fever in a calf, that's basicly normal.

dun

OP
C

crewboss

Reaction score
doent walk any different than when first got up, vet did betadine at first, we missed next day. Vet started him on banamine and naxcel twice a day (last night) and he's not bottle fed. Thats the vets thought also.

OP
C

crewboss

Reaction score
Thanks for the replies. I suppose I'd walk stiff for awhile too.
does navel ill progress rapidly and is naxel a good one for this
?

dun

Reaction score
I haven;t treated naval/joint ill in a few ywars, but then the preferred stuff was long acting Pen. Everyother day for a month. Cleared it up fine. It took about 2 weeksw before she srtarted showing any signs of the problem. Just seems that 3 days is a little early for it to be causing a porblem. But as I said, haven;t treated but one recently and haven';t seen any since.

dun

msscamp

Reaction score
crewboss":2wnni9uh said:
Hi, I'm new to this cattle biz, Had to pull a calf for the first time
sunday afternoon, my question is do they do things slower,