Is my beef finished?

Help Support CattleToday:

ksmit454

Reaction score
These are Angus, they are 17 & 18 months old. I have been finishing them on a grain ration since June 1st. Butcher is set to come September 14th. This is my very first time finishing beef so I'm not sure if I'm on track. Will September 14th be too late? Let me know your thoughts. Thanks so much!!
Also - they are getting about 10-15lbs per head per day of grain and a flake or two of hay. They have access to pasture too.

rollinhills said:
they don't look finished to me, bump them up to about 20 lbs a day and all the hay they want to eat you might make it by september.

Ok awesome thank you so much! This was the response I was hoping for. They are easily at 15lbs pet head per day and I can get them up to 20lbs pretty easy. I throw hay for they but they also have free gazing. Thanks again!

rollinhills said:
if they are on full feed they should have more than they will eat at a feeding that way you know they are getting plenty.

Ok thanks, good advice! I do notice they aren't finishing their grain in one sitting, but will go on to the hay and come back for grain later.

Hard too tell by photos, looks similar size to my bottle heifers of 700lb or so.

I am not giving mine a lot of feed as I do not want them over conditioned as will breed soon, I find they sort of go in spurts, he looks rounded enough though, but prob should be more so if on free feeds of grain and good hay....he is not chasing the girls round the paddock is he ? ;-)

My dad's old adage was -- "if you look at them head on and the front legs both come out of the same hole they aren't ready". haha

In short, take a look at their brisket.

But I'd agree with others you need to feed a bit more, particularly the hay. I've had my best luck balancing around 15-17 lbs of corn with all the hay they can eat (no implants, no ionosphores).

greggy said:
Hard too tell by photos, looks similar size to my bottle heifers of 700lb or so.