Incomplete Castration

Help Support CattleToday:

Sunny Citizen

Reaction score
I'm new to this, so please forgive - if my terminology is incorrect: I have a 3 1/2 month old pure Jersey "steer" (actually a rig, I guess). I bottle fed this baby and castrated him (and 3 others) via the rubber band method at about 3 weeks old. Apparently, I missed one testicle in this guy. His castration is healed, but he is not smooth and when I feel around, I'm sure that I locate a testicle. (All the other calves look/feel good.)

What can I do? Recastrate???? (vet, cutting myself, rebanding - the scrotum's gone) or is the sale barn my best bet?

I am new to this - never had cattle before. Just wanting to raise some meat for myself -- (I know, I know, Jerseys aren't meat producers...but I live in Dairy country and this is my option right now and I'm learning). Also, have a heifer in this group of calves that I want to keep (to AI with a beef breed and to be a nurse cow in the future). I've confirmed that she's not a free-martin.

I know Jersey bulls can be mean and I don't want any of that business right now.

I am no expert by any means but heres what I have learned. Even though there is a heifer the nut will be to close to the body and temp will be to high for any viable sperm. From what I have read on hear it isnt that major of a problem and I wouldnt do anything. Just watch him but you shouldnt have a problem. Search it on here its been asked before.

This is why I am not a fan of the band method.

For all intents and purposes your steer is still a bull. He will behave as such and the quality of the meat when he is butchered will be affected as he is a bull.

At this point I think the vet is your best option for dealing with the botched banding job and make your steer into a steer.

I think you are correct that you don't want to deal with him when he is older if he is still a bull. A bottle calf growing up to become a mature bull is bad news.