Husky pole saw Mr.Trent please help!

Help Support CattleToday:

SmokinM

Reaction score
Got a Husqvarna 326p4 pole saw that will not run when you take the choke off. It just revs til it runs the fuel out of the carb then loads up and dies. Air filter and fuel lines seem good. Changed fuel filter but it didn't seem dirty at all. Starts fairly easy with the choke on. What am I missing? I am no mechanic but neither are the guys at the local repair shop so hoping I can get some help here. Thanks!

Starting fairly easy with the choke on rules out an air leak or at least a big one. It sounds fuel related and not electrical so rule that out. Using the swag method, I would say stiff diaphragms in the carburetor. Also it could be either the impulse from crankcase to the carburetor problem or a bad check valve in the carburetor (carb related). If you had a Mityvac MV8500 to check and see if the carburetor will hold pressure, then that could rule out a lot also. Also check the fuel line to make sure it does not have a small crack inside the tank. With a Mityvac those are easy to check also with pressure. What a repair person would do is put a new carburetor on immediately and rule out a lot welter that is it or not. Might try just a carb kit as the diaphragms could be stiff, being the only problem, or the little screen in the carburetor clogged up. That is what I would do.

These are a must working on small 2 cycle engines

Last edited:
Thanks for the input. I do have a vacuum tester so I can give that a shot. A couple additional questions. How hard is a carb kit to put in for an average joe mechanic or am I better off to just replace the carb if thats what I need? Also do they come pre-adjusted? I seem to recall it taking a special tool to do the Husky carbs. Thanks!