How much feed is "enough"?

Help Support CattleToday:

Toothacre

Reaction score
First post! I'm a newbie with 40 head in North Florida.
Cows are on pasture for 8 months, coastal hay for 4, minerals, salt block at will.
Cow/calf operation, selling calves at 400-600 lbs at local sale barn.
how much supplemental feed 13% protein 50# bags is appropriate.
neighbors have commented:
1)Calves only at a creep feeder
2) pregnant/nursing cows only
3)2-5 lbs per cow per day to "maintain health"
4) only in winter to help fight cold stress
5) none ever, too expensive, and not needed.
6) all and none of the above!
Thanks for any advice!

I don't know your breeding, but it looks like you wean and ship calves at about 7 months.

I would vote for no supplemental feed other than protein/mineral tubs year round.

My buyers don't like fat calves. They prefer calves with some grow left in them.
Breds/cows shouldn't be fed hard due to bigger calves and harder births which creates problems down the road in breeding back.

I think the answer is yes, it all depends on the situation. IF you have good grass and the cows are maintaining condition on that, then you don't need to feed anything more.

Now let's say that it's super dry, you're dealing with a set of first calf heifers and the grass is burned up then you probably need to do something. If you ask 10 different producers you'll get at least 10 different answers what "something" is.

Last year dealing with a group of heifers we did put out a creep feeder. For what it cost and what we got back in terms of pounds it probably wasn't worth it, BUT we thought that it took some of the load off those cows that were still trying to grow themselves, plus feed a calf, plus grow a new baby. If we had one more breed back that would have fallen out of bed that was probably worth $500-700.