Hi

Help Support CattleToday:

Phenom21

Reaction score
I have a few questions and would like some decent input.

I'm 17 years old and a high school senior who has went from being a small city boy to a country boy. Anyway, I'm going to a local college to get a nursing degree and I have been helping my step-dad out with cattle now for about 4 months. I live in western North Carolina and was wondering what type of cattle do good here? (He has charolais)

That is about the only question I have, but could you guys maybe give me some tips/tricks for dealing with cattle?

Hi Phenom,
-always have an exit when working with cows, never know when one will decide you need to sit on a fence post, or better yet, go over a fence.
-treat them respectfully, they after all weigh more than you
-move quietly, not sneaky like, just gentle, and talk quietly around them
-mineral is as important as feed
-enjoy your animals
Good luck

RR

Phenom21":1vk1rhi7 said:
I have a few questions and would like some decent input.

I'm 17 years old and a high school senior who has went from being a small city boy to a country boy. Anyway, I'm going to a local college to get a nursing degree and I have been helping my step-dad out with cattle now for about 4 months. I live in western North Carolina and was wondering what type of cattle do good here? (He has charolais)

That is about the only question I have, but could you guys maybe give me some tips/tricks for dealing with cattle?