Herd type opinions!

Help Support CattleToday:

watso059

Reaction score
Hey all!! This is my first post!!! :D I am new to the cattle business. My dad and I got in in April of last year and have had pretty good success and a lot of fun. :cboy: I live in north Alabama on Sand Mountain. Black is the color of choice in my area. I have about 7 keeper Brangus or Angus cross cattle, all with good frames and leg. By the end of the year we should have around 20 good cows. My dad and I were planning to have a brangus cross herd with either a registered limo or brangus bull. The other route i was thinking of going was getting Charlais cows and a Piedmontese bull. There is an extremely large ranch close by that has piedmontese. I know that black usually does better in my area, but if i could get some well-built and fast-growing calves from the char/Pied route i think we could do just as well. The only reason i am considering the pied/char route is because it would be very different than anything that is here. I enjoy cattle one way or another, so which would be the best do you think? Also, would the Charlais cows with Piedmontese bull be a cood cross?

piedmontesexcharolais is a terrible idea!!!!

cant go wrong with brangus cows. they will cross well with limousin, charolais, hereford, etc. brangus x brangus is a money maker as well.

Beefy":2jo4eijn said:
piedmontesexcharolais is a terrible idea!!!!

cant go wrong with brangus cows. they will cross well with limousin, charolais, hereford, etc. brangus x brangus is a money maker as well.

Why? Like i said, im new and the guy with the large ranch has a char/pied herd i think (which is where i got the idea...lol). Any problems with the cross?

Welcome aboard

My advice would be to use whatever sells well in your area. Talk to salebarn owners and order buyers for their opinions. Also make your own obsevations at sales.

In my area, angus/angusX and char/charX are the best sellers. Spots and whitetails are usually discounted.