Heifer head too big?

Help Support CattleToday:

djinwa

Reaction score
I bought a couple British White heifers a couple months ago. I didn't notice the head on the one, as she was eating in a bale ring, and I was mostly focused on temperament and other things. Anyway, got her home and was looking and the head started bothering me. Almost looks like a buffalo, or I believe I've heard the term pallet head.

Undesirable for say, calving ease?

IMG_2182.jpg

IMG_2178.jpg

Are those Ponderosa Pines in the photos ? Absolutely beautiful ,,,, WOW what scenery ,,,, breathtaking .

Your heifers look great, you are over thinking too much ... ;-)

I don't know your operation or where you're from, but could I ask, "Why British Whites?" Just seems like there are a lot of breeds that are more money makers than them. Just wondering, gs

well i am no expert but i think your heifers look good and u should enter your pics n a contest.oh and i never would of thought of comparing them to buffalo.

Yes, those are ponderosa pines after a snow storm over a week ago. It's near record warm today at 50 degrees, so it's all gone. I'm near Spokane.

I don't know if I qualify as having an "operation." Just a few acres and a few cows. My interest is in figuring out desirable and problem free small acreage cows. I'm trying British Whites because I like the way they look, and I don't like black cows in the heat (yes, we can get to 100). Plus my daughter likes them and she's going to get married this summer by that wood fence to the right in the second photo. The heifers will be in all the wedding photos. :)

I'm probably overthinking, but that's what I do, and don't want to mess with calving issues. Thought I'd read that wide heads can be more problem.

LRTX1":1m6t96je said:
Maybe that other one just has a small head..... :lol2:

Well, she is the dumber one.....

Doesn't seem like the info below is a big deal with many.
http://www.wikihow.com/Judge-Conformation-in-Cattle