Hay storage?

Help Support CattleToday:

Bill Elliott

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to the cattle world. I have 10A of "pastureland". I was using about 3A for hay production. I don't have covered storage available. I have about 30 large rolls of hay. I currently have it set end-to-end north/south. We are located in lower Alabama. Is north/south correct or should it be east/west? Or does it make a difference. Great site...thanks for any advice/help. Cheers, Bill

Don''t know about Alabama, but here outside stacks run N-S so we can load hay off of the N end without snow drifts. Doubt you have that issue :shock: :D

I truly believe that a hay barn will always pay, for no more hay that you have wouldn't have to be that big, something small and cheap would work.

Snow is not an issue.... :) Thankfully....but space is. I've tried putting black plastic over the tops of the rolls...has not worked all that well...I only carry 5 pairs so have plenty of hay to get me through the next couple of months...will carry over remainder until next winter...just in case....Cheers, Bill

I have had good luck storing hay outside using one of those big hay tarps I bought through a mail order place for greenhouse type stuff.

Has really cut down on the ammount of hay that ends up wasted.

I feed the outside stuff first in the winter cause once it starts snowing the tarp gets harder to move off the bales lol. Course thats not a problem for you :lol: .

We set the bales on old semi tires. Keeps them up off the ground that way. We don't tarp and set the bales north to south. We don't let the ends of the bales touch though. Lots of moisture here and when they touch like that we have found that we get more spoilage.

We don't normally have too much hay left from the year before but, if it is made right the quality is just fine the second year.

Bill,
If you run your stack e-w the sun will never hit the north side.
The wind won't dry the north side. And snow packs up worse.