frostbite hoof

Help Support CattleToday:

avandam

Reaction score
I just brought home a calf that was born March 16, 2013.
She had frostbite when she was born and is missing part of her back left hoof. She gets around GREAT, put some weight on it, and it is a little deformed. She is a very bright and friendly calve, and also is an embryo calve..so she has great genes! I am a large animal vet tech but this is the first time I have came across this. I don't mind her being special needs, which is why I brought her home! I just was wondering if there was anything I could do, to make her hips a little more even..like a "fake hoof," If anyone has any ideas I would greatly appreciate them!!

Please, I don't want to hear that I should euthanize her.. she is extremely healthy, lively, and a great little heifer, she has made it this far and hasn't given up, I don't want to give up on her.

Thank you very much!

avandam":3tvx735d said:
I just brought home a calf that was born March 16, 2013.
She had frostbite when she was born and is missing part of her back left hoof. She gets around GREAT, put some weight on it, and it is a little deformed. She is a very bright and friendly calve, and also is an embryo calve..so she has great genes! I am a large animal vet tech but this is the first time I have came across this. I don't mind her being special needs, which is why I brought her home! I just was wondering if there was anything I could do, to make her hips a little more even..like a "fake hoof," If anyone has any ideas I would greatly appreciate them!!

Please, I don't want to hear that I should euthanize her.. she is extremely healthy, lively, and a great little heifer, she has made it this far and hasn't given up, I don't want to give up on her.

Thank you very much!