First Show

Help Support CattleToday:

kathy

Reaction score
I guess I need someone to tell me that I'm flat out of my mind! As I posted the other day that I had just received some cattle in from another state. Well 2 are show heifers and also a young bull - show quality came in. I have never shown before and I am planning on NWSS, of '06'. Not afraid to jump in head first usually,but now I'm thinking twice. Any tips for a first-timer? I've only got a few months to learn everything I can.

Go for it. I've been showing cattle, Brahmans ( for 30 years) and South Devon (for 15 years) Just love it. Get the poos sometime when beaten by inferior cattle but soon get over it when I sell the minor placegetters and the major winners end up at the meatworks.
What are you going to show? Get tired sometimes having to get up early,but the joy of your animals winning soon makes you forget about the tiredness.
Good luck
Colin

Not afraid to jump in head first usually,but now I'm thinking twice
EEKs - that's really jumping in!! What breed? If I were you, I would plan on taking them to something "smaller" first. They may be broke to show - but you are not! Go to a smaller show & WATCH & learn.
You need to be rinsing & brushing them daily NOW & forever :shock: :D till after show season.
Are you going to hire someone to clip & fit them? Clipping is NOT something you will learn overnight. Good luck!