fence

Help Support CattleToday:

bpatterson

Reaction score
Hi I am wanting to fence off five acres at my new house my wife and just purchased what kind of fence would you folks recommend. I am either wanting to do high tensile, barbed wire or field I have no experience with high tensile can you use metal tee post or do you have to uset all wood and if I use wood how would you suggest putting up the wood post driving them or drilling holes and setting them. Sorry for all the questions but I don't want to go broke putting it in but also don't want it half a__ either. I do this for a hobby just feed out a few each year for the freezer and to sell thanks.

Are you wanting to fence other stuff out as well as fence your stuff in? If you have neighbors with livestock, you'll want the best fence possible.

If your fenceline is nice and straight, and on level ground, T posts will work for high tensile, but you'll still need wood posts for anchors, and with HT, you'll need to build STRONG anchors! (cannot stress that enough!). If your ground is rocky, pounding the posts is going to be hard to do, and you'll have to auger them in or have a mini excavator put them in... Pounding them in *is* possible, but you'll need a steel driver to put in first and make the hole before you bugger up the tip of the post. In softer ground, pounding them in is the most effective way. Around here a "legal" fence is 5 strands, with droppers in it, 15 ft post spacing max. That makes for a pretty strong fence. If you use wooden droppers, you get the bonus that you can electrify the 2nd or 3rd wire to keep them all smart.

I tell you this I fenced in my place with all wood posts..... NEVER NEVER NEVER AGAIN. The new land I buy will have of course wood corner posts but then the line posts will all be t posts less work. That goes for electric.. barbed.. or woven wire. However the wood poles and types of wire I have now are woven and then 4 strands of barbed starting out at 12" up to 48".