Fence Question

Help Support CattleToday:

tim1970

Reaction score
I am about to get my 2 calves this weekend, and after reading some of the previous posts about fencing, I am beginning to have doubts that my holding pen will be strong enough. What I have is a holding pen made out of 16ft "cattle Panels" with t-posts every 8 feet. These are not the rigid pipe panels, but are the flexible panels (From TSC). Would it hurt to run a hot wire just inside of this? Will this hurt a small calf?

Thanks for all the help now and in the past. (See absolute beginner post :) )

Tim

the problem you get into with panels is mainly when you are crowding, have a jumper, or pusher. i would think that would be fine for 2 calves. the hotwire, to me, sounds like overkill. of course, it wouldnt hurt.

I just built the same type of pen except ot has 10" diameter wood corner & gate posts. I put tee posts at about 4' centers between the corners and it feels pretty stout. I have worked with cows in all pipe pens and believe me they can mess just about anything up. Work them slow and don't overcrowd or rush them as much as you can.

tim1970":5eld6wy6 said:
I am about to get my 2 calves this weekend, and after reading some of the previous posts about fencing, I am beginning to have doubts that my holding pen will be strong enough. What I have is a holding pen made out of 16ft "cattle Panels" with t-posts every 8 feet. These are not the rigid pipe panels, but are the flexible panels (From TSC). Would it hurt to run a hot wire just inside of this? Will this hurt a small calf?

Tim

Lot depends on how old the calves are and how much they weigh... ;-)