Feed, supplements and Green Grass.........

Help Support CattleToday:

jrgrtx

Reaction score
Good afternoon everyone. I'm fairly new to cattle and am looking for a little advice. I have stumbled my way in to a few cattle (2 heifers and a bull to start with) and am looking for suggestions, advice, criticism, anything on feeding. I have the heifers in one pasture and the bull in another right now. All 3 are less than a year old. We have plenty of green grass for them right now and I have salt and minerals out for them. They love range cubes but I'm wondering if the cubes are even needed as long as they have plenty of grass. Any feeding suggestions would be appreciated.

Use the cubes occasioanlly to get them used to coming up when you want them. Other then that they make you feel better then any good they do the cows.

I appreciate that. Grass is good and thick so I didn't see any need to keep buying bags of candy basically for them. As the summer sets in later on and things start to thin out and turn brown, hay was my plan but for now, everything is thick and green.

jrgrtx":ybg3whou said:
for now, everything is thick and green.

Welcome to easy street. It is nice here. Wish I could stay!!!!! :) Cows are fat, calves are fat, pasture putting out more than they can eat. Stock tanks are full of water. Fences are fixed. too bad it is not like this always.