EPD's

Help Support CattleToday:

mjrogers

Reaction score
Okay... I'm new to EPD's and I'm trying to wrap my head around them. I'm looking at purchasing a Brangus bull and want to make the right choice so I need some assistance in understanding EPD's. I understand for instance if Bull A has a BW of -0.9 and bull B has a BW of -3.5, then Bull A will have a higher BW calf. What I can't seem to understand is what is the baseline that the EPD's are being compared to??? Is there a list of "Brangus" average BW, WW, YW, Milk, etc. that are the baseline for brangus EPD's?

There should be a percentile chart available for Brangus, look on the assn's web site. It will tell you how the EPD's of the animal you are looking at "rank" within the breed. 50% is the breed average, maybe that's the baseline you are looking for?? And be sure to consider the accuracy of the EPD's, too, low accuracy is like 20% chance of rain.

Your basic concept is right, just don't apply it to a single calf. In theory, if the original EPD estimates are accurate, If each bull were randomly mated to enough cows (Say 100 each or more) Bull A calves average birth weight would be 2.6 lbs. larger than Bull B. but Bull B could very easly sire some of the bigger individual birth weights.

I like to look at the EPDs back in the pedigree to see how honest the early EPDs are. I don't like to see a low BW bull on a high EPD cow, with a small reported actual BW generate a negitive or low BW EPD. EPDs are a selection aid, the bull needs to look the part too.@

mjrogers":2lvsmeaw said: