Delivered 2 to the processor yesterday

Help Support CattleToday:

crooked horn

Reaction score
I dropped these 2 heifers at the processor yesterday. Since I am not good at remembering to get pictures, the pics of the horned heifer are about a month old, but my wife did get 1 good pic of the other one in the trailer.
For those that are interested in the numbers, they were on whole corn for 177 days. They were given a limited amount of hay when fed twice daily and finished up eating about 20 lbs of corn with a couple pounds of bull ration to keep them interested and 3/4 pound of ADM beef trate each per day.
I should have the weights from the processor on Tuesday and I should have steak pics by the end of the month. Any thoughts on finish or guesses on dressing percentage? For reference I would guess live weight at between 1100 and 1200 lbs.

Attachments

• IMG-0581.jpg
    IMG-0581.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 58
  • IMG-0630.jpg
    IMG-0630.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 58
  • IMG-1069.jpg
    IMG-1069.jpg
    2.7 MB · Views: 58
Okay @crooked horn I make a guess, it's hard to tell weight in pictures due to size reference but live weight is lower than you estimated by at least 200 lbs., dressing percentage will be low, around 50%.
How far off am I?

You are correct I did over estimate weights by around 100 lbs. What can I say I don't have much experience with fat cattle. These were not real big framed heifers and I am satisfied with that. Processor was happy with the carcass, so we will see what the end result is when I get some steaks back.

weights: horned 1031 live, 561 hanging 54%
polled 1038 live, 554 hanging 53%

One thing I've found is, when ya carry feed to em every day, they still seem/look like little calves even when they get real big!
That reminds me. When I was a kid my grandpa used to tell me that if I picked a calf up every day from the day it was born that I would be able to pick that calf up as a yearling. I didn't ever test that theory out but it seems sound.