Custom Backgrounding/feeding in Minnesota

Help Support CattleToday:

customcattle

Reaction score
My wife and I currently live in Nebraska where I am an Agriculture Education Teacher and manage a small absentee owner beef operation of 75 pair. It has always been a dream of mine to run my own beef operation, and have quite a bit of experience in cow/calf operations, running yearlings on grass, and backgrounding calves on grass in Wyoming, Nebraska, and Oklahoma/Texas Panhandles. We have been putting some thought into starting an operation in MN, as that is where my wife is originally from, and trying to build from something somewhat small (at least small for what I have experience with). We and a partner (who also has experience in a family owned feedlot/cow calf operation) would like to start a custom backgrounding and feeding operation where we would take in around 400-500 5-6 weight calves and either pasture them on grass, and then send them back to the owner, or preferably keep them and feed them to market weight and help the customer to market their fat cattle.

We have done what calculations that we can and have a price in mind that we could afford to pay for land and materials in order to build a small feedlot. The thing we are not certain of is the demand for an operation like this in that area. Would producers be interested in a situation where they would be paying for pasture and care of their cattle. Any input or thoughts on this would be much appreciated as well as any resources.

thanks a bunch

We don't have any where specific in mind in the state and should have been more clear in the fact that we are looking at getting closer so Minnesota and the surround states. Mostly just looking into getting closer I guess.

Custom backgrounding is not common here. Most cow/calf operators are small and sell at the sales barn. A few are bigger and may sell on video.