converting back to pasture after row croping

Help Support CattleToday:

tncattle

Reaction score
I've found a nice river bottom piece of 44 acres all open and once pasture and used for cattle. But it was in soybeans this past summer. What needs to be done to get it back to pasture for cattle? I have no experience in this and want to know if cattle could be put out there next spring or would you have to wait another year for the grasses that are planted to come back and get established? Would it be expensive to get back to pasture for cattle?

First thing that I would do is to try to find out what chemicals were put on the land for the soybeans.

A fellow here took a place that had been in produce and turned it to pastured. He leveled then no-tilled tifton 9 with rye. Had grass to graze by summer. You could plant pearl millet and what ever grass you want. That way you have something to graze in the summer. By the next summer the grass should be going good. :2cents:

Got a rental field like that 2 years ago. The soil sample was not good but par for the course around here. Had I been more observant I would have seen that the field was almost perfectly level but it seemed to form a very slight bowl shape. Looks like the field had been bulldozed off many years before and the edges piled up. Nice drainage problem. :(
Anyway, take a soil sample and you may also inquire how well the soybeans did. I wish I had done that....

The owner said the soybean farmer used Roundup & Valor. What would need to be done after the use of those two?

Roundup has no soil activity. Look up a label for Valor and see if it has any replanting restrictions. What are you going to plant?

BC":3k23tod1 said:
Roundup has no soil activity. Look up a label for Valor and see if it has any replanting restrictions. What are you going to plant?