Converted Horse Trailer

Help Support CattleToday:

slick4591

Reaction score
Up front: I have zero experience with a two horse trailer. So, is there any reason why I couldn't convert a two horse trailer into smaller cattle trailer? Since my breed is not as popular as some I normally have to haul long distances to buy the heifers I want. Going to NE Georgia mid-summer to bring one, maybe two bred heifers home. All I have is a 16' WW that's pretty heavy and I'm thinking I could shave off fuel charges by having a lighter trailer for the smaller runs. I also haul a little for others, let's say friends, so I could maybe justify the extra expense. I'm thinking something along the line of just removing the divider and hitting the road? Or, is there going to be more to it?

For 2 that's a long haul, in a small space..I hauled a couple horses from your area back in the 80s.. Stopped in Meridian Ms.. And walked and watered them.let em stretch...your gonna have to water them,,especially that time of year...are you driving straight through???

As long as they cant jump over the back doors, and have air flow, your good to go. Granted, it was hauling a horse not a cow, but I've traveled the world with a two horse straight load. Slept in one countless times, and took a whores bath in a bucket in there to. Slap a trash bag in the bucket, and you've got a toilet.

callmefence":249pjdhv said:
You could, but I wouldn't. I don't think there would be any big benefits over your ww. Spend the money on good tires and grease.

This was my thought at first, but a 16' BP trailer on a half ton has a certain amount of see saw, and whip you don't get with a 2 horse. A small GN might would be money better spent. I had a 12' GN once upon a time. Should have never sold it.

ALACOWMAN":29l5psh0 said: