Cleaning up rest of hay

Help Support CattleToday:

Kell-inKY

Reaction score
I left the cattle this morning with maybe a half a days worth of hay in the hay ring. I am getting tired of a pile here and there since they always seem to be almost out before I head to work. I figured this time I would make them clean up the bottom but am having second thoughts. I have never had them go through a fence yet and everything is iced over but I sure don't want this to be the first time. There is snow and ice covering the ground everywhere and even if there wasn't there is not really anyplace for them to go but electric doesn't work too well in ice. They were hollerin' at me this morning so I know they are expecting a bale.

When it gets this low they push the ring around and then end up making a mess or laying and crapping on it.

So, it is about an hour round trip if I decide to go put hay out, and I don't get an hour lunch.

They've never missed a meal in their life so I have no experience with it, I might not make it home until late with kids going to soccer etc.

Worried for nothing?

In the cold and snow/ice we always feed them even with a little left in the rings. It's their heat generation method, digesting the roughage.

theres nothing wrong with making them clean up the hay in the ring.that is if you dont mind putting hay out in the dark.we let our cows clean up the hay rings before we put hay out.now with this cold we are keeping the rings full.

Cleaning up is just a necessary evil of cattle. Might as well not waste any.

Usaly I make my cows clean up all the hay till the hay rings are empty. But wih all the snow and cold we have been having I have been keeping the rings full and I unroll one everyday so that the calves will have somewhere dry to lay. The cows have been cleaning up the one I in roll pretty good then they eat whats in the hay rings.