Chainsaws-Husky or Stihl?

Help Support CattleToday:

J. T.

Reaction score
I'm in the market for a new chainsaw. Looking for a medium duty model for clearing brush and felling trees up to 12-16 inches in diameter. Suggestions?

I've got a Husky 261 and I'm not very impressed with it. No torque. That chain better be sharp and you better keep it wide open. My next saw will be a Stihl, most likely a 361 or whatever the replacement is for the old 036. I grew up using Jonsereds, wish they still made the real ones.

I've tried huskys, ONCE, didn;t like them. I have several Stihls for different applications and really like them. One thing in favor of Stihl is that if someone sells them they have to also be able to repair/maintane them. Not so with the other brands.

Well, I'm on the other side of the fence. I got a Stihl MS210. I'm not impressed with it at all. No torque. Now I've been cutting wood for 30 years and that last ol cheap poulan I had was the best cutting saw I ever had.

This Stihl I bought last year is a piece of junk. And I could of bought three of the walmart poulans for what this costs.

I just had some land logged though, and I got some clearing to do so I am interested in other peoples opinions on bigger saws.

Both have ups and downs. Huskys have a better air filter/intake systems. However, they seem to have too many plastic parts and break too often for me. I also don't like the torque range on Husky's. I have better luck out of Stihl. I have an 036 pro for personal use and we use ms440's at work. Virtually no problems except the air filter seems to always be clogged.

cfpinz":38injwjg said:
I've got a Husky 261 and I'm not very impressed with it. No torque. That chain better be sharp and you better keep it wide open. My next saw will be a Stihl, most likely a 361 or whatever the replacement is for the old 036. I grew up using Jonsereds, wish they still made the real ones.