Cattle equipment fabrication

Help Support CattleToday:

Hardin Farms

Reaction score
Hey guys, been kicking around an idea for a little while. I'm a welder by trade and have a good bit of time off.. is there any money to be made out there building cattle equipment? Custom alleys, sweeps, working systems, troughs, feeders etc... I have a lot of equipment to build such, but don't know if the demand is out there. Southeastern part of the US. Would also be interested in building custom working pens and such, maybe surplus pipe/steel supplier. If you guys have any ideas that might be in that arena, throw em out there. What say you??

Hardin Farms said:
Hey guys, been kicking around an idea for a little while. I'm a welder by trade and have a good bit of time off.. is there any money to be made out there building cattle equipment? Custom alleys, sweeps, working systems, troughs, feeders etc... I have a lot of equipment to build such, but don't know if the demand is out there. Southeastern part of the US. Would also be interested in building custom working pens and such, maybe surplus pipe/steel supplier. If you guys have any ideas that might be in that arena, throw em out there. What say you??

The answer is yes, but I offer one suggestion........Horse people are far less frugile than cow people. Consider stall fronts, roping sleds, stripping chutes, roping chutes.

Bigfoot said:
Hardin Farms said:

The answer is yes, but I offer one suggestion........Horse people are far less frugile than cow people. Consider stall fronts, roping sleds, stripping chutes, roping chutes.

Great idea! I've built a couple jigs for aluminum cattle show stalls and some other show equipment. That's something I'll certainly look into. Thanks for the suggestion!

Lots of money to be made on custom permanent equipment and facilitys. But it requires alot more equipment and skills than welding. Don't forget employees, the problems and taxes that come with. Insurance etc.