Cattle coral system

Help Support CattleToday:

SCcattle

Reaction score
Does anyone have any advice when building a new coral system/ catch pen? I have a Priefert 135 degree tub and sweep w/ alley that i'll use with my squeeze chute. I have gone back and forth on ideas for catch pen set up, etc... Just can't decide on one yet.

I believe I will do a 40X60 heavy use area with crush and run.

I prefer to have a separate partial lane built that adjoins with the other lane/chute gate when it opens so that if you've pushed them around to the "feeding side" you can just push them down and do any extra sorting or whatever in an area where they can only go one of two ways, and only one without going through you. Gives you an extra fence to jump on if a chute-shy animal turns on you, too. I prefer the squeeze chute or head gate/catch to be located as to allow for release back into the pasture or staging area so they destress faster.

Use the heavy portable corral panels (the ones that weigh 600-800# apiece)! Don't invest in anything permanently installed in the ground. Take them wherever you want/need them, whenever you need them. Change the plan/configuration anytime you want to. Buy them new, and in 10-15 years, they'll still be worth nearly what you put into them... how many fixed position corral systems can you say that for?