cash calves vs beef carcass grid

Help Support CattleToday:

moses388

Reaction score
I am a cow/calf producer. I have thought about reducing the cow herd and I would see the calves all the way to finish. I am near a kill plant. Currently I background the calves and sell at a sale barn. Dairies in the area have a lot of black-hide beef on dairy cross cattle. Is there more money to be made selling finished beef cattle on the grid?

With all due respect the answer to your question is, Yes if and No because.........
One of the first questions you will be asked is where are you located? I would implore you not to respond to the request in any way.
There are over 200 million people world wide that have access to this site and not all of them are concerned with your welfare.
Your question interests me as I have been thinking along the same lines and have currentlty held back steers to potentially finish.
They will be a year old this April and weigh in the mid to high nines. They are 3/4 RA -1/4 Corriente to 100% RA with the potential
(I hope) to finish mid choice.
One of the first things you will encounter is the amount of manure generated in a feedlot condition. Do you have facilities and equipment
to handle it? I like to pile feedlot manure for year to give it time to kill germination of as much weed seed as possible from any hay fed.
More power to you if you have no weed seed. Next thing is separating steers from heifers if you have both and again this involves facilities.
I am not asking breed or color which will probably come up and I would rate the question right up there with what type of wood smoke
is coming from the neighbors chimney.
A lot will depend on what you are doing now such as, Do you rotational graze? Move every day? Let grass grow 35- 40 days before
letting them on it again? Do you cut hay more than once a year? Are you in an area where corn is readily available for growth or