Can you guess this steers weight

Help Support CattleToday:

mab_va

Reaction score
I have a Jersey Angus steer I bottle raised since last July. I dont have scales but Im guessing he is around 450lbs now. Im not good at guessing weight because this is my first batch of cattle. What do yall think?

IMG_6534_zpsfe53293b.jpg

You are ball park on the weight. But I think you are off on the breeding. Half angus shouldn't have the horns. And half Holstein would have horns and that white star on its forehead. There are a fair number of Jersey/Holsteins around and that is exactly what he looks like.

great thanks for the help. If he is half holstein does that mean he will take longer to grow out and finish?

Dave":1drhve7s said:
You are ball park on the weight. But I think you are off on the breeding. Half angus shouldn't have the horns. And half Holstein would have horns and that white star on its forehead. There are a fair number of Jersey/Holsteins around and that is exactly what he looks like.

The have a couple of papered angus around here with horns. Go figure. Probably a neighbor bull jumped a fence. Nevertheless the owners are convinced they have purebreds on their hands.

mab_va":1abrpaqh said:
great thanks for the help. If he is half holstein does that mean he will take longer to grow out and finish?

Longer that what? Half jersey? No.

He aint "bad". Better than the meat you'd get at Wal-Mart. You could get him ready for the freezer in around 6 to 8 months would be my guess.

backhoeboogie":3li4auha said:
mab_va":3li4auha said:

Longer that what? Half jersey? No.

He aint "bad". Better than the meat you'd get at Wal-Mart. You could get him ready for the freezer in around 6 to 8 months would be my guess.

What I meant was I heard holsteins grow more frame before they can finish compared to angus and jersey. Dont know if thats true just what I heard. 6 to 8 months sounds good to me.

mab_va":3t7ynudi said: