Can I do anything with this old cow?

Help Support CattleToday:

Greyhound

Reaction score
I am fairly new to the cattle business. I have an approximately 15 year old cow that I bought 3 years ago at a sale barn. (Yes, if I had know how old she was, I would have sold her before now. I knew she was old, but I didn't know how old till the vet told me.)

Anyway, she has had two good calves for me. She was due to calve again least week. But apparently she had hydrops. Plus it was a large calf, and turns out the calf had one foot backwards when it was trying to come out. So, before I could call to get the vet out, she ruptured her prepubic tendon. The vet came out, pulled the (dead) calf, and gave the cow some antibiotics.

I probably should have had the vet put the cow down, but I thought she might be worth something. Is there anything I can do with her, other than shooting her? Perhaps take and have her processed for hamburger meat for myself? Or would the meat be bad because of her condition?

I tried to add before and after (the tendon rupture) pictures but could not. I can e-mail you the pictures if you want to see them.

Put her down, she was given antibiotics so will now have a withdrawl period and everyday she will cost you more money. We all lose one now and then, the best thing you can do for her and yourself is to put her down and move on.

Might possibly give you an answer with a better outcome......If we had and idea at all where you are.

Greyhound,
Contact your vet, find out what antibiotic they gave, what the slaughter withdrawal time is on that particular drug, when given by that dosage/route, and while you're waiting for the drug to be eliminated, you can start looking into local processing possibilities.
We've eaten several older cows, back when the kids were little, and ground beef was the main course. Better than just shooting an older or non-productive cow and burying her.