calves & scours

Help Support CattleToday:

Larisa

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to this & have started bottle raising Holstein calves. I have a question for all of you. What do you give for scours? I've got one that just started & a friend that used to run a dairy farm said she gave her's Amodium D. Also do you recommend any shots, pills, etc. when I first get them? I give then a shot now that is supposed to boost their immune system. They are from a few hours old to a few days old when I get them.
As you can tell I'm very new to this & appreciate any & all the help I can get.
Thanks!
Larisa
in NE MS

Use Protec for scours. 2 scoops mixed in with the milk replacer. Also Pepto-Bismal. Use a big syringe and put about 60 cc in their mouth. Here is my vet's recommendation for baby Holstein calves-

Day 1
TSV-2 2cc in the nose
Jencine 4 2cc in the neck
Vision 7 w/H.somnus 2cc in the neck
Bose 3cc in the neck
Pulmoguard 2cc in the neck

Day 14
Vision 7 w/H.somnus 2cc in the neck

Day 21

Hope this helps and good luck.

That was quick. Thanks so much for helping me. I am going to see what she is like in the morning after the Amodium A-D.
I am so glad I found this group. I have been reading the messages for about an hour. Very good & informative people on here! :D

i use la 200 for scours, and if boughten at a sale barn ,i would give a shot of long lasting penicillan or la 200 soon as i got them home

There is also an excellent medication called Diaque, that actually mixes in with milk replacer,As far as I know, it's one of a few meds that don't have to be mixed seperately. Also don't pinch any pennies or buffalos on the quality of milk replacer you use, I always use medicated, that's made by a company called Milk Specialties, with at least 20% fat. A friend gave us a 3 day old calf last Wednesday, that was a little scoury, and between as Jerry 27150 said, with the slow realease LA-200, and what we used, the scours were gone in 24 hrs. Good Luck!