Calf bought at auction

Help Support CattleToday:

Sherilyn

Reaction score
Hello all, I'm new to not only this board but to cow/calf raising.

We went to a cattle auction and purchased a heifer calf (over 200 lbs).. she was a beauty.
We didn't notice anything unusual at the auction but when we stopped for gas on the way home we noticed that she had been straining while trying to deficate. She had really loose stool then... anyway. The next morning she was down, hadn't eaten and wouldn't eat so we started electrolyte/vitamin liquids in her. All day long she was glassy eyed and only got up twice to strain. She almost prolapsed her rectum. Finally got hold of the vet later in the day and he told us how to do the "enema" with the garden hose. The liquid went in but didn't come out. We left her alone for about 20 minutes and when we went back she had died.
The vet said she was "constipated" and that he didn't hold out much hope for her (after hearing all of the symptoms). Said this could be caused from stress (due to the auction).
What could we have done differently?? Any pointers about buying calves in the future and what to do just as soon as we get home??
Any input would be appreciated.

Sorry to hear about your calf loss! How old was the calf? (Usual Weaning age is between 6-7 months).

No offense, but sounds like your Vet barely made it thru medical school... I would think a Vet could recommend something a little more "medical" that giving her an enema with garden hose...

I've never had a constipated animal; however, I would think there were some cattle medications that would address this quickly. A "Fleets Enema"??? Or...something more bovine specific?

Possible intestinal impaction due to excessive worms? Ingestion of some foreign material leading to impaction?

Thank you for your reply.

Unknown age of the Calf. The auction only advises the weight.